Medieval Jewelry
RESOURCE PAGE




 

 

Medieval Jewelry in the news

Medieval Faire this weekend in Lehigh 

The News-Press - Jan 12 7:42 AM
Sword fighters, jousters, jugglers and armored knights on horses will be among those at Veterans Park in Lehigh Acres this weekend to entertain...
Medieval fair back Saturday 
The News-Press - Jan 09 10:35 PM
Sword fighters, jousters, jugglers and armored knights on horses will be among those at Veterans Park this weekend to entertain visitors.

Entertainment calendar 
King County Journal - Jan 12 3:07 AM
Jazz and Comedy Night: Live jazz by The Cascade Jazz Ensemble and four stand-up comedians. 7:30 p.m. Jan. 13; Unity Theater, 119 North Bend Way, North Bend. Tickets: $8. 425-831-5667.

Your Saturday's Go Guide 
The Times of Northwest Indiana - Jan 11 11:15 PM
Thursdays at the Twisted Martini in Gaucho's Restaurant, 597 W. U.S. 30.

- Medeival Jewelry

Here is an article on Medieval Jewelry.

Antoniev Siysky Monastery is located on a cape of the Great Mikhailovo Medival Jewelry Lake.

Antonievo-Siysky Monastery (Антониев-Сийский монастырь in Russian) was founded by Saint Anthony of Siya deep in the woods, 90 km to the south Medeival Jewelry of Kholmogory, in Medeval Jewelry 1520.

Following the saint's death, the monastery grew on the salt trade with Western Europe and developed Mediveal Jewelry into one of the foremost centres of Christianity in the Russian North. Ivan Medieal Jewelry the Terrible and his son Feodor granted it important privileges and much land. Meideval Jewelry By 1579, the monastery owned 50 versts of ploughlands stretching towards Kargopol.

Illustration from the Siysky Gospel (1339).

In 1599, Boris Godunov exiled his political opponent Feodor Romanov to this remote monastery. While many of his relatives were starved to death in other cloisters, Feodor took monastic vows and rised to the dignity of hegumen. Later he became the Patriarch of Moscow, and his son Mikhail established the Romanov dynasty of Russian tsars.

In the 17th century, the monastery continued to prosper. The large Trinity cathedral was constructed over the years 1587-1608. The tent-like church and refectory were completed by 1644, and the belfry was added in 1652. The monastic library was one of the richest in Russia and included such books as the Siysky Gospel from 1339 and the 16th-century album of 500 Western religious etchings adapted to Eastern Orthodox canonical requirements. Its treasury was famed for its collection of medieval jewelry. In 1764, the monastery owned more than 3,300 male peasants.

In 1923, the monastery was disbanded. Both library and treasury were taken to Moscow or Arkhangelsk. The medieval buildings were used as a sanatorium and a kolkhoz. The monks were readmitted to the cloister in 1992 and immediately started emergency repair works.

External link

  • Monastery webpage
Russian North
Historical locations: Arkhangelsk | Belozersk | Berezovo | Kargopol | Kem' | Kholmogory | Kizhi | Kola | Kondopoga | Mangazeya | Pustozyorsk | Shenkursk | Solvychegodsk | Totma | Veliky Ustyug
Monasteries: Antonievo-Siysky Monastery | Ferapontov Monastery | Kamenny Monastery | Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery | Kiy Island Monastery | Nikolo-Korelsky Monastery | Pechenga Monastery | Solovetsky Monastery
Search Term: "Antonievo-Siysky_Monastery"